Image Alt
Mosby Papua New Guinea

Mosby Papua New Guinea

Mosby Papua New Guinea

Mosby Papua New Guinea

Mosby Papua New Guinea

Port Moresby

The city of Port Moresby lies on the southern shore of the Gulf of Papua. In 1884 it became the headquarters of German colonial rule in the territory of New Guinea.

The name “Moresby” derives from the German word Moritzburg, named after King Moritz of Saxony, who founded the settlement in 1854.

In the early 20th century, Port Moresby grew into a major trading port and administrative center. During World War II, Japanese forces captured the town during the Battle of Rabaul, and it remained under Japanese occupation until September 1944, when Australian forces recaptured the city. After the war, the United Nations administered the area until independence was granted in 1975.

Today, Port Moresby is the capital and largest urban centre of Papua New Guinea. Its population is approximately 730,000.

Port Moresby is known for being hot and humid throughout most of the year. However, there are some months where temperatures drop down to around 30°C (86°F). This is due to the influence of the sea current called the Humboldt Current, which brings cool air from Antarctica.

Climate data

Port Moresby experiences a tropical savanna climate (Köppen Aw).

History of papua new guinea mosby

The Motuan people of the Bay of Islands were among the earliest inhabitants of what is now papua new guinea mosby

. They lived along the coast of what is now Port Moresby, trading pottery for sago, fish, yams, taro, bananas and other goods.

They had no written language; it is thought that they used a form of pidgin English based on their own language. This language became the foundation of Hiri Motu.

In 1879, the first European settlement was established at Rabaul, and in 1888, Britain took possession of the island of New Ireland, including the Bay of Islands. In 1899, the Germans occupied the islands of New Britain, and in 1904, the Treaty of Versailles gave Germany control over southern New Guinea.

After World War I, Australia gained control of the entire territory. In 1969, Papua New Guinea was granted independence.


Port Moresby became the administrative headquarters of what was now called Papua, and in 1908 the town was renamed “Moresby.”

The name “Moresby” is derived from the names of two early explorers, John Moresby and William Gosse.

In 1883 Queensland attempted to Annex the South Eastern Corner of the New Guinea Island(Subsequently Known As Papua).

British Authorities Refused To Approve The Annexation Following The German Annexation Of New Guinea In 1884.

Four Years Later It Established A Protectorate Over Papua As British New Guinea.

In 1905 The Recently Federated Australian Government Passed The Papua Act Which Came Into Effect In 1906.

The Act Transferred Papua With Port Moresby As Its Capital To Direct Australian Rule.

World War II

During World War II, some Papua New Guinean men enlisted in the Papua Infantry Battalion while others joined as porters carrying supplies over trails and rough terrain.

In 1945, the Territory of New Guinea was formed when it was split off from the Territory of Papua and it was merged into the newly established Commonwealth of Australia. This merger brought together many different groups of people from both islands, including those of British descent and indigenous Australians.

Port Moresby became the headquarters of the new territory and a focal point of development.

The city was granted city status in 1971, with Oala Oalaoa-Rara being the first lord mayor.


On September 16, 1975, Papua New Guinea gained independence from Australia. The ceremony took place in Port Moresby, the capital city, where the Prime Minister Michael Somare delivered his address.

The event marked the end of British colonial rule over the island nation of Papua New Guinea.

Prince Charles, Prince of Wales represented the Queen of Papua New Guinea at the celebration.

A monument commemorating the day was erected in front of Parliament House.

In addition to the main events taking place in Port MoresBY, several buildings were constructed in the suburbs of the city.

The Papua New Guinea National Museum was completed in 1977. The museum contains exhibits about the history of the people of Papua New Guinea. It includes items such as weapons and tools used throughout the country’s history.

The National Library was opened in 1981. This library houses many books written by local authors. It also holds maps and photographs that help visitors better understand the geography and culture of Papua New Guinea. The National Library also hosts a number of exhibitions each year.


Moresby has a tropical Savanna Climate (Koppen : Aw), with fairly consistent temperatures throughout the year. In fact, this makes it one of the hottest places in Papua New Guinea. With an annual mean temperature of 30°C (86°F), the weather here is generally hot and humid. However, there are some variations in the seasons. The wet season runs from December to May, and the dry season lasts from June to November. The rainy season usually begins in late October and continues till early April. During the rainy season, heavy showers occur almost every day. The maximum amount of rain falls in February, with about 300 mm falling per month. Between January and April, the sun shines most days. The highest recorded temperature was 42°C (108.8°F).

The lowest recorded temperature was -3°C (-25°F). Average humidity ranges from 70% to 90%. Rainfall averages 1,700mm annually.

District, LLGs and suburbs

The National Capital District is one of six administrative divisions of Papua New Guinea, covering an area of 2,988 square kilometers (1,130 sq mi). Its capital city is Port Moresby.

Port Moresby is the sole local level government area within the NCD, and includes the urban Centre of the same name, along with several satellite townships such as Wewak, Goroka, Lae, Madang and Mount Hagen. In addition, it encompasses parts of the provinces of East Sepik, Morobe and Western Highlands, including the town of Kokopo.

For census purposes, the LLGs are divided into wards and those into Census Units.

In the 2010 Census, there were 843,835 residents living in the NCD, of whom 9% identified themselves as being part of an indigenous ethnic group.

The population of the NCD grew by 7.3% between the 2006 and the 2011 censuses; however, the growth rate dropped to 4.6% between 2011 and 2016.

The most common language spoken in the NCD is English, followed by Tok Pisin.


Port Moresby is one of the most dangerous cities on Earth, according to Amnesty International. The capital city of Papua New Guinea is ranked among the worst places to live in the world, alongside war zones like Afghanistan and Iraq.

The report says that armed robberies are common, while kidnappings and murders are also frequent occurrences. In 2017 alone, there were 462 reported cases of murder, rape, robbery and assault.